LCC Committee

Welcome to Vermillion County

Local Coordinating Council for a Drug-Free Vermillion County

The Vermillion County LCC meets on the 1st THURSDAY of each month at 12:00 PM at the Vermillion County Courthouse with a summer break of July and August where we do not meet.

Mission Statement: The mission of the Local Coordinating Council for a Drug-Free Vermillion County is to reduce the prevalence of problems associated with alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use and problem gambling.  The healthy development of our citizens is being threatened by the problems and challenges of ATOD use and problem gambling in today’s culture.  It is our mission to promote healthy lifestyle patterns among Vermillion County residents and to make a positive difference in the area of ATOD issues.

History:  The Local Coordinating Council for a Drug-Free Vermillion County was formed in 1989 by a core group of concerned citizens many of whom continue to actively serve.  Our mission was to coordinate a comprehensive approach to dealing with the problems of substance abuse in Vermillion County.  Since its formation, the coalition has held over 140 public meetings to address community issues and to solicit community involvement in the areas of prevention, treatment, and law enforcement/justice.  The coalition serves as the recognized Local Coordinating Council (LCC) for the Governor’s Commission for a Drug-Free Indiana.  There were 16,234 people who live in Vermillion County in 2008 according to STATS Indiana, updated March 11, 2010. Their other data shows the following breakdown of ethnic diversity – 97.9% Caucasian, 1.1% Hispanic, and 0.9% Black.  There are 7 towns in Vermillion County:  Clinton with the largest population of 4,799, Newport with population of 549 and is the county seat, Dana, Cayuga, Perrysville, Universal and Fairview Park.   Vermillion County consists of 2 school corporations which are North Vermillion School Corporation and South Vermillion Community Schools Corporation.  The school enrollment for 2006 – 2007 is 2,800 according to STATS Indiana on March 11, 2010.   Law enforcement includes Vermillion County Sheriff’s Department, Cayuga, Dana and Fairview Park Town Marshals and Clinton City Police Department.

Summary of the Comprehensive Community Plan:  The LCC spent time at each monthly meeting over the last year (2009) following the guidance of the Comprehensive Community Plan.  The LCC reviewed the problem statements, objectives and goals of the Comprehensive Community Plan to assure the mini-grants funded were in accordance to what Strategic Prevention Framework planning revealed and determine were the problems in the county.  This Comprehensive Community Plan has been developed to reduce specific problems found in the county.  In 2009, more data was gathered to see how we were doing in reaching the goals of the Comprehensive Community Plan.  We have provided an update on each objective and feel our plan is still relevant for the Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug problems in the county.

Contact Us:

Vermillion LCC
P.O. Box 14
Newport, IN. 47966-0014

Visit our Facebook Page

Click HERE to send us a message